Child Protection/Safeguarding
Mrs. Alex Waterman is the Designated Safeguarding Lead
Mrs. Gemma Martin is the Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Keeping our children safe

At Cheriton Bishop Primary School we strongly recognise the need for vigilant awareness of safeguarding issues. All staff have received appropriate training and induction so that they understand their roles and responsibilities and are confident about carrying them out. Staff, pupils, parents and governors feel secure that they can raise any issues or concerns about the safety or welfare of children and know that they will be listened to and taken seriously. This is achieved by maintaining an ethos of safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people. At our school we are not afraid to challenge each other to keep our children safe.

We all have a safeguarding responsibility and have a duty to refer any safeguarding issues to external agencies that need to be involved.

Contact Telephone Number for any Safeguarding concerns  01647 24817

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) for our school is Alex Waterman

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead for our school is Gemma Martin

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads (DSL) for Cheriton Bishop Pre-school are               Christine Grist and Jill Mercer -

Should the above be unavailable for any reason, please contact one of the other DSL’s within our Trust:-

Bearnes – Dan Turner 01626 353980

Broadhempston - Matthew Medd 01803 812689

Diptford – Lizzie Lethbridge 01548 821352

Harbertonford – Anne Mitchell 01803 732352

Hennock – Vic Pooler 01626 833233

Landscove – Jill Ryder 01803 762656

Stoke Gabriel – Alice Eeles 01803 782469

Tedburn St. Mary - Andy Keay 01647 61338

Yeoford - Alex Waterman - 01363 84234

The Designated Safeguarding Governor is Elaine Clark -

Devon County Council Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO) can be reached on 01392 384964

 Useful Links:-

Operation Encompass

DFE – Child Sexual Exploitation Guidance

Devon Safeguarding Childrens Board

Child Exploitation and Online Protection (CEOP) THINKUKNOW

Anti Bullying Alliance

CEOP Police

National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children

NSPCC Online Safety